The daycare sitch

May 30, 2008

My daycare has been sold.  Yes, the daycare I love and my son loves.  The daycare where I have left him since he was 12 weeks old.  Left him without a worry.  I’ve never called to check on him.  I just know he’s OK.  He’s so happy there it’s silly.  And he’s learned so much.  He learns new skills every day.

And, it’s being sold to a woman who dumped us the week before I had to go back to work.  We had lined up daycare with her before the Bub was even born.  We had interviewed, and taken him for trial runs and everything.  Just a few days before my maternity leave was up, she called and just said that she had too many kids and couldn’t take him.  I had to find child care that fast.  We got so lucky, I tell you.  I visited a lot of daycares in those few days, and some?  I wouldn’t take my dog to.  And, so many had waiting lists, and I couldn’t wait. 

To say I have some trust issues is sort of an understatement.  I know that the new owner is great with kids.  I know that she is keeping some of the current staff, so that Bub will be with people he loves and who love him.  I know that most of the current kids are staying, so he’ll have all his peeps.  And, I should be relieved that we are getting our first choice back, right?  Right?  But I totally have fear of rejection.  And I don’t think I will be able to find a great, new place in a few days for a second time. 

Cautious optimism is called for, but crazy paranoia is happening.

One Response to “The daycare sitch”

  1. Annemarie Says:

    Ugh, what a pain. I am sure it will work out well, but I understand the paranoia.


Leave a Reply

