I hate nighttime

April 22, 2008

Last night I got about two hours of sleep.  My son, who has really been sleeping so much better since we started “sleep training” him, was up a lot.  Sometimes he needed me, but sometimes he went back to sleep on his own.  Either way, his crying woke me up.  Add to that springtime allergies and a snoring husband and it was an awful night.  Oh yes, and I had forgotten, the cat had somehow gotten shut out in the garage, and she was crying and crying.  I tried to find her a few times, but never thought to look outside!  I figured it out some time after 1 a.m. 

Nights at our house are such a crapshoot.  Take one bad sleeper who is prone to late night anxiety attacks and add snoring and a baby who is up all the time and there’s just no sleeping going on.  it’s gotten so that I hate going to bed.  I get so worried about my son, and I get stressed wondering what is going to happen, and I just can’t relax.  I’m so tired, but the fear of what the night might be like keeps me from going to bed.

It’s worse now that the babe really does sleep through the night most of the time.  When he was up every two hours, every night, you knew what was coming and could come up with a plan of action.  Now, he goes for days sleeping from 8:30 to 6 or even later, and then there will be a few days of up all night, and then back to sleeping through.  It’s maddening.

I will say, that we truly are teaching him to go back to sleep on his own, and that we only go and comfort him when he’s really worked up.  It’s making a difference, but we’re still not sleeping.  I don’t expect a kid to always sleep all night, and I know that there will be years of this, and worse! when he figures out how to get out of bed and crawl into mine, but I’m not sure how to deal with my new found night phobia. 

Leave a Reply

