Step, step, thud.

April 21, 2008

The babe is really getting the walking down and in so doing is gaining confidence.  More confidence than skill.  My heart really cannot take all the falling.  He tries to go so fast, and carry so much stuff, and maneuver around, and he just falls all the time.

On Friday, when I picked him up from daycare, he had a huge scrape on his forehead.  They were even icing it down.  Then, in the few minutes it took for me to get all his stuff, he fell *again* and scraped up his nose.  I know all this is normal, but it’s just so scary.  Every fall I worry about his noggin.  He often just shrugs off even the biggest thuds, so when he does cry and need hugging, I get even more worried because I know it must have really hurt.

Today is the first day it’s warm enough to wear shorts, and now I get to worry about his head and his knees.  I should have just let him sweat it out in long pants!  He’ll be running soon, so I know I have to get over my fears, but I’m not so certain the mama will ever stop wanting to hug him with every fall.

Leave a Reply

