Stuff White People Like

March 20, 2008

my lunchAlthough myself and most everyone I know uncomfortably see ourselves in many of the
Stuff White People Like entries, I am from the Midwest.  We have our share of the rarified “White People”, but most of ours like Walmart and NASCAR more than Whole Foods and the idea of soccer.

Never has this become more apparent to me, than during the last few months.  Since my son started eating the same food as my husband and I, I have been trying to learn how to cook.  Well, real cooks probably wouldn’t call what I do cooking, but I’m making an effort to put all the food groups out on the table every day, and to make seven different things each week, instead of ordering a pizza and eating that for a few days, and then going out and eating the doggie bag stuff the next day, and then microwaving something pre-made and opening a bag of salad so that we won’t die young from not eating a vegetable.

Of course, I’m trying to do my “cooking” in under 30 minutes each night.  I get home at 6, and bathtime is 7:45, so there’s not a whole lot of time to make and eat a meal.  Being a librarian means direct access to almost every cookbook ever made, so I checked out a mess of “30 minute meals”, “5 ingredients or less” and “cooking for complete idiots who hate to cook but have a family” recipe books.  I also started using the interwebs to look up recipes that I think a 1 year old and an extremely picky 40 year old husband who only eats beige food would enjoy.

Most of these recipes seem to be created by our Midwestern variety of white people.  They are heavy on the Cream of Mushroom soup.  Yes, they include actual food group items, but they also contain Stove Top Stuffing.  It’s easy to poke fun at them, but in my cooking desperation I’ve made a fair share of 1950’s style casseroles (I prefer to call them mid-century modern).  And they are all delicious. 

So, if a recipe takes less than 30 minutes, includes the word “easy” and is from the back of a package?  Well, I’m there.  I’m not ready to commit to jello-molds, but I may attempt a tuna casserole, and only semi-ironically.

2 Responses to “Stuff White People Like”

  1. Annemarie Says:

    For cooking, you have to check out the pioneer woman. None of her stuff is too complicated, and it’s all YUMMY. Okay, some of it, I should know how to make at home, it’s just bad, like onion strings, but mmmmmmmmm. http://www.thepioneerwoman.com

  2. acdalton Says:

    OMG, her blog/photos are hilarious. I think I’m going to make the lasagne. It looks do-able.


Leave a Reply

